Web         Gaudiya Discussions
Gaudiya Discussions Archive » DEVOTIONAL PRACTICES
Discussions specifically related with the various aspects of practice of bhakti-sadhana in Gaudiya Vaishnavism.

Taranga-rangini - Madhurya-Kadambini

jatayu - Mon, 04 Jul 2005 12:19:26 +0530
My question is about the meaning of taranga-rangini, playing in the waves of the ocean of bhakti and getting stuck at the sixth stage - what are the other stages? If someone kindly could explain ( found it at Pritha dd's website)?

Spiritual master must be above the six stages mentioned in Srila Vishvanatha Chakravarti Thakur's book Madhurya-Kadambini, the six stages of unsteady or anisthita stages of bhajana-kriya. The sixth stage is enjoying the facilities of bhakti, or playing in the waves of the ocean of bhakti, a position known as taranga-rangini.

"When one has attained the topmost position of mahä-bhägavata, he is to be accepted as a guru and worshiped exactly like Hari, the Personality of Godhead. Only such a person is eligible to occupy the post of a guru."

Caitanya-caritamrta Madhya 24.330 P

Madhava - Mon, 04 Jul 2005 23:56:40 +0530
The last, taraGga-raGgiNI, is counted among the bhaktyuttha-anarthas, or anarthas arising out of devotional practice. Such anarthas are overcome partially at the stage of bhajana-kriya, completely at the stage of nishtha, and absolutely at the stage of ruchi. When real taste for devotion arises, taste for its by-products vanishes. You'll find all of this described elaborately in the upcoming release of Madhurya Kadambini with Pandit Sri Ananta Das Babaji's commentary.
jatayu - Wed, 06 Jul 2005 13:01:53 +0530
Thanks Madhava prabhu, this here seems to be the only place in the www where to find online answers about GV philosophy! rolleyes.gif
The upcoming release of Madhurya Kadambini with Pandit Sri Ananta Das Babaji's commentary - is it published/mentioned here or at