Web         Gaudiya Discussions
Gaudiya Discussions Archive » RAGANUGA REMNANTS
Whatever is left over from the archives of the old Raganuga.Com forums after most of the substantial threads were moved to the relevant areas of the main forums.

The Four Types of Anarthas - - Things That Destroy Devotional Service

Rasesh - Wed, 26 Nov 2003 21:58:38 +0530
Amnaya-sutra (7)
mAyAmugdhasya jIvasya
jneyo 'narthas' catur vidhah
hrddaurbbalyam cAparAdho
'sat-trsnA tattva-vibrhamah

The living entitiy attracted by maya is attributed with four types of anarthas: hrdaya-daurbalya (weakness of heart), aparadha (all kinds of offenses), asat-trsnA (material desires), and tattva-vibhrama (illusion about spiritual knowledge).

(verse 8)
sva-tattve para-tattve ca
virodhi-visaye caiva
tattva-bhramas' catur-vidhah

Sva-tattva-bhrama, (illusion regarding one's own identity),
paratat-tva-bhrama (illusion regarding the Supreme Personality of Godhead), sAdhya-bhrama (illusion regarding the process of prema-bhakti), and sAdhana-brhama (illusion regarding the process of sAdhana) are the four kinds of illusion found in conditioned souls.

Can I please hear some elaborations on these items from the learned pundits who have some views on this topic.